Boston Marathon Streak: 3 Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/ Mon, 18 Nov 2019 09:21:55 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sun, Nov 17, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-17-2019.html <p>Gorgeous evening tonight, mid-50s and just beautiful as the sun went down, 8.7 in 7:13 avg pace + strides</p> Sun, 17 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 16, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-16-2019.html <p>10k this year that I&#39;ve done the last two years, so wanted to keep it alive and do it again. Really flat course and even in driving sleet last year I ran 36:3X, so with perfect weather forecast I was excited to see what I could do. However, the race did not pan out well. I woke up feeling tired and my legs just had nothing it seemed like, especially the 2nd half of the race. Did everything normal before the race, just think I&#39;m a little overcooked this fall. Here are my splits:</p> <p>1- 5:56</p> <p>2- 5:56 (11:52)</p> <p>3- 5:50 (17:42, was at 18:2Xish at the 5k)</p> <p>4- 6:03 (23:45)</p> <p>5- 6:09 (29:54, wind was up during the race and was in my face here, but was fading otherwise too)</p> <p>6- 6:07 (36:01)</p> <p>change - 1:35, it came out to .27 in my watch, so although it seems long, this course is notorious for lapped traffic, so I was weaving all day long and so I definitely ran longer than 10k, but the course is certainly accurate</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>total was 37:36, 6:00 pace according to my 6.27 on my watch, but for the 10k would be around 6:02-6:03 pace. Just really lost momentum in the 2nd half and had nothing in terms of turnover, cooled down for 3.1 to get to 12 on the day, will see what is next - probably should decide when to take the impending break to recharge</p> Sat, 16 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Fri, Nov 15, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-15-2019.html Fri, 15 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 14, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-14-2019.html <p>5 easy this morning, was kind of tight at the start, but felt better as it went on, 7:30 avg pace&nbsp;</p> Thu, 14 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Tue, Nov 12, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-12-2019.html <p>easy 6.7 tonight, sun went down early so a little cold by the end + strides</p> Tue, 12 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 11, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-11-2019.html <p>freezing cold morning, 15 degrees in light snow, 7.6 easy paced - 7:25 pace</p> Mon, 11 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 10, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-10-2019.html <p>treadmill tonight with at my wife&#39;s gym, had big time stomach issues so called it in after 5.7, did get a mile in 5:30 pace though, wanted at least one uptempo</p> Sun, 10 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Sat, Nov 09, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-09-2019.html <p>9.3 in 7:25 avg pace this morning, felt okay for the most part + strides</p> Sat, 09 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Thu, Nov 07, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-07-2019.html <p>really cold this morning in iowa, did not feel very strong at all on top of that, 7.3 in 7:43 pace, tomorrow will probably be another rest day</p> Thu, 07 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Wed, Nov 06, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-06-2019.html <p>beautiful 50 degree morning run in Iowa today - 7:27 pace + strides</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Mon, Nov 04, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-04-2019.html Mon, 04 Nov 2019 07:00:00 Sun, Nov 03, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-03-2019.html <p>easy paced 6.4 today, surprisingly sore</p> Sun, 03 Nov 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Nov 02, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-02-2019.html <p>Favorite race of the year today (except for maybe Boston). Local Hillbilly hike HM starting in a nearby town and running to my hometown on a trail I am really&nbsp;familiar with from growing up here. Goal was sub 1:16, but have been feeling a little overcooked lately, and after seeing the race-day forecast I figured it&#39;d be a tough shot. Normal pre-race routine, got a 1.5 warmup and the kept moving to stay warm, 32 degrees and 23 windchill at the start, clear and sunny though, luckily the wind was a cross-wind for most of the race (almost tailwind for a 4 mile segment), so that helped. Got out and was all alone after&nbsp;1 mile, was completely by myself until I caught some of the 10ker&#39;s near the end. Here are my splits:</p> <p>1- 6:02</p> <p>2- 5:57 (11:59)</p> <p>3- 5:53 (17:52)</p> <p>4- 5:50 (23:42)</p> <p>5- 5:54 (29:36)</p> <p>6- 5:58 (35:34), was about 36:43 or so at the 10k, was at like 38:53 at halfway, so goal at that point was to try to stay under 1:18</p> <p>7- 6:03 (41:37)</p> <p>8- 6:02 (47:39)</p> <p>9 - 6:03 (53:42)</p> <p>10 - 6:03 (59:45, 5:58.5 pace, a good split through 10 miles, not where I was hoping to be, but all things considered I was hanging on</p> <p>11 - 6:03 (1:05:48)</p> <p>12 - 6:03 (1:11:51, rattled off 6 extremely consistent miles! kind of crazy actually)</p> <p>13 - 5:55 (1:17:46)</p> <p>change - :35 - 1:18:21, 5:59 pace</p> <p>Overall, I am happy with the effort, when things got tough at about 8 or 9 miles, I could have easily packed it in, after all, I was all alone and there was no chance of catching anyone or losing spots, but I&#39;m proud that I kept fighting and my pace stayed really steady, 4th best half-marathon time of my life, and so also 4th time I&#39;ve been able to run one under 6:00 pace, so always nice to do that, cooled down only for about 1.3. 3rd pace overall. Not sure what&#39;s next but would like to get some shorter races in the next month&nbsp; before breaking before Boston cycle #4</p> Sat, 02 Nov 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Nov 01, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-11-01-2019.html Fri, 01 Nov 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 31, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-31-2019.html <p>4.5 this morning on a cold Iowa day, snowed a little overnight but was kind of pretty this morning</p> Thu, 31 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 30, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-30-2019.html <p>Treadmill this morning after a foot of snow last night, easy pace</p> Wed, 30 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 28, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-28-2019.html <p>easy paced run tonight, pretty chilly though - 20 degrees with a little windchill and a lot of snow on the ground + strides</p> Mon, 28 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Oct 27, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-27-2019.html <p>7.2 in the snow and cold today, not an enjoyable run, although I always like the gray ambiance of a snowy day</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 26, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-26-2019.html <p>easy pace this morning, felt pretty rough, 7.5 in 7:27 pace + ice bath</p> Sat, 26 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 25, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-25-2019.html <p>good effort tonight, 13.2 at 7:11 pace, felt pretty easy, which was the goal coming in, + strides</p> Fri, 25 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 24, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-24-2019.html <p>7:16 pace</p> Thu, 24 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Oct 23, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-23-2019.html <p>easy run 7:22 pace</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Oct 21, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-21-2019.html <p>back in iowa</p> Mon, 21 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Sun, Oct 20, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-20-2019.html <p>7:27 pace</p> Sun, 20 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Oct 19, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-19-2019.html <p>not as sore as I thought I&#39;d be</p> Sat, 19 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Oct 18, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-18-2019.html <p>moved long run up to today, was going to go tomorrow, but we are heading to the harvest festival tomorrow night, really strong effort toda3y given the mileage over the last three days, really didn&#39;t feel it as much as I thought I would, hit the 16.75 in 1:58:27, 7:05 avg pace, big negative split, first half was 59:51, making the 2nd half&nbsp;58:38, so 1:13 negative split, easy to do on my long run course which is uphill for some of the way out and generally down at the end, most of my quickest miles came after 12 miles, which was my goal today + strides and ice bath tonight as my legs are pretty beat up, 40.25 miles in the last 3 days, perhaps a new best for a 3 day stint</p> Fri, 18 Oct 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Oct 17, 2019 http://JacobFlaws.fastrunningblog.com/blog-10-17-2019.html <p>Beautiful day for a run, little warm at 80 degrees and pretty dry, but got 12.4 in 7:10 avg pace + strides</p> Thu, 17 Oct 2019 06:00:00